Information about the PhD

The CCiL PhD programme constitutes the second Investigation Period (IP). It is made up of the same three branches of the CCiL master’s degree: Psychology, Linguistics and Philosophy. Students must apply for admission in one of these three branches.

Three universities make up the CCiL program and participate in the CCiL PhD: Universitat de Barcelona, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and Universitat Rovira i Virgili (Tarragona).

However, unlike the CCiL master’s degree, applications for membership and programme incorporation  are decided and managed by each university independently. Students can choose the university in which they want to apply and, if accepted, enroll in. In order to perform the admission request to the PhD program, students must complete the established requirements first (also established by the program and by each university).

Each university has a general coordinator for the CCiL PhD:

  • Universitat de Barcelona: Faustino Diéguez.
  • Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona: Anna Gavarró.
  • Universitat Rovira i Virgili: M. Pilar Ferré.

The PhD programme has an Academic Committee consisting of seven membres:

  • Faustino Diéguez (UB)
  • Anna Gavarró (UAB)
  • M. Pilar Ferré (URV)
  • Manuel García-Carpintero Sánchez-Miguel (UB)
  • Elisabet Tubau (UB)
  • Olga Fernández Prat (UAB)
  • Natàlia Català Torres (URV)


Yearly registration: 401,12 €

Thesis defence: 156,87 €

[Fess can very from year to year, check updated prices here]