Our researchers

1.Modeling, Simulation and Nanoscopic Methods (NanoMet)

(Coordination: Francesca Peiró)

Theoretical physics of Nanoscopic Systems
(Dep. Quantum Physics, Fac. Physics)

Martí Pi Pericay (Full professor) marti.pi(at)ub.edu
Manuel Barranco Gómez (Full professor) manuel(at)ecm.ub.es

Materials: Phase transitions
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Antoni Planes Vila (Full professor) toni(at)ecm.ub.edu
Lluís Mañosa Carrera (Full professor) lluis(at)ecm.ub.es
Teresa Castán Vidal (Full professor)
Michela Romanini (Postdoc Juan de la Cierva)
Marcel Porta Tena (Adjunct Lecturer-Postdoc)

Nanosystems Statistical Physics
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Miguel Rubí Capaceti (Full professor) mrubi(at)ub.edu
Andrés Arango Restrepo (PhD Student)

Nanosystems Statistical Physics-Complex Matter Group
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Giancarlo Franzese (Professor) gfranzese(at)ub.edu
Carlos Calero Borrallo (Postdoc)
Oriol Vilanova Gabarrón (PhD Student)
Sotiris Samatas (PhD Student)
Luis Enrique Coronas Serna (PhD Student)

LENS-MIND
(Dep. Electronics and Biomedical Engineering, Fac. Physics)

Francisca Peiró Martínez (Full professor) francesca.peiro(at)ub.edu
Sònia Estradé Albiol (Associate Professor)
Josep Manel Rebled Corselles (Adjunct Lecturer)
Luís López Conesa (Adjunct Lecturer)
Pau Torruella Besa (Collaborator)
Gemma Martin Malpartida (Collaborator)
Catalina Coll Benejam (PhD Student)
Javier Blanco Portals (PhD Student)

Group of Magnetic Nanomaterials
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Òscar Iglesias Clotas (Associate Professor) oscariglesias(at)ub.edu

2.Nanobioscience, Nanobiomechanics and BioNanotechnology (NanoBio)

(Coordination: Gustavo Egea)

Physics in Nanobiophysics
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Aurora Hernandez Machado (Full professor) a.hernandezmachado(at)ub.edu

Grup de Física no lineal en nanobiofísica-Magnetic Soft Matter Group
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Pietro Tierno (Associate Professor and ERC Consolidator Grant) ptierno(at)ub.edu
Antonio Ortiz-Ambriz (Postdoc)
José Manuel García Torres (Collaborator)

Microbian Enzymes for Industrial Applications Group
(Dep. Genetics, Microbiology and Statistics, Fac. Biology)

Francisco I. Javier Pastor Blasco (Full professor) fpastor(at)ub.edu
Pilar Díaz Lucea (Full Professor) pdiaz(at)ub.edu
Josefina Martínez Martínez (Professor)
Susana Valenzuela Mayorga (Adjunct Lecturer)
Carolina Buruaga (PhD Student)
Lourdes Verónica Cabañas (PhD Student)

Nanomalaria Group
(Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biomedicine. Fac. Biology)

Santiago Imperial Ródenas (Professor) simperial(at)ub.edu
Carlota Roca Martínez (PhD Student)
Xavier Fernández Busquets (Collaborator. IBEC)

Biophysics and Bioengineering Unit
(Dep. Biomedicine, Fac. Medicine and Health Sciences)

Daniel Navajas Navarro (Full professor) dnavajas(at)ub.edu
Ramon Farré Ventura (Full professor) rfarre(at)ub.edu 
Pere Roca Cusachs (Associate Professor) rocacusachs(at)ub.edu

Laboratory of connective tissue signaling and genetic diseases (CTS-GD)
(Dep. Biomedicine, Fac. Medicine and Health Sciences)

Gustavo Egea Guri (Full professor) gegea(at)ub.edu

Biomolecule and small-system physicsSmall Biosystems Lab 
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Fèlix Ritort Farran (Full professor) ritort(at)ffn.ub.es
Maria Mañosas (Postdoc Ramón y Cajal)

BiOPT: Optical Trapping Lab - Grup de Biofotònica
(Dep. Applied Physics, Fac. Physics)

Mario Montes Usategui (Professor)
Estela Martín Badosa (Associate Professor) estela.martinb(at)ub.edu
Raul Bola Sampol (PhD Student)
Dorian Treptow (PhD Student)
Arnau Farré Flaquer (Collaborator)
Ferran Marsà Samper (Collaborator)
Antonio Marzoa (PhD Student)

Grup de Productes Naturals 
(Dep. Biology, Healthcare and the Environment and Dep. Biochemistry and Physiology, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

Antonio Fernàndez Tiburcio (Full professor) afernandez(at)ub.edu
Jaume Bastida Armengol (Full Professor)
Francesc Viladomat Meya (Full Professor)
Montserrat Arró Plans (Associate Professor)
Laura Torras Claveria (Adjunct Lecturer)

Peptides and Proteins: Physicochemical Studies
(Dep. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Technology and Physical-Chemical, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

Victòria Girona Brumós (Full professor)
Josefina Prat Aixelà (Professor)
Montserrat Pujol Cubells (Professor) mopujol(at)ub.edu
Yolanda Cajal Visa (Professor)
Montserrat Muñoz Juncosa (Associate Professor)

Bioelectronics Unit and Nanobioeneering Lab
(Dep. Electronics and Biomedical Engineering, Fac. Physics)

Josep Samitier Martí (Full professor)
Oscar Castaño Linares (Associate Professor)
Romén Rodríguez Trujillo (Tenure-Track Lecturer)
Mònica Mir Llorente (Adjunct Lecturer)

Bioelectrical Characterization at Nanoscale
(Dep. Electronics and Biomedical Engineering, Fac. Physics)

Gabriel Gomila Lluch (Full Professor) gabriel.gomila(at)ub.edu

Nanostructure of Biomembranes Group
(Dep. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Technology and Physical-Chemical, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

Jordi Borrell Hernández (Full professor) jordiborrell(at)ub.edu
María Teresa Montero Barrientos (Professor)
Òscar Domènech Cabrera (Associate Professor)
Martha Leticia Vázquez González (Adjunct Lecturer)
Adrià Botet Carreras (PhD Student)

Cancer therapy group 
(Dep. Biochemistry and Physiology, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

Carlos Ciudad Gómez (Full professor) cciudad(at)ub.edu
Verònica Noé Mata (Associate Professor)
Alejandro Jiménez Félix (PhD Student)
Eva Aubets Gil (PhD Student)
Sonia Trigueros (External Collaborator-University of Oxford)

Self-organized complexity and self-assembling materials (SOC&SAM)
(Dep. Materials Science and Physical Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Francesc Sagués Mestre (Full professor) f.sagues(at)ub.edu
Berta Martínez Prat (PhD Student)
Ignasi Vélez Cerón (PhD student)

Mineral Resources Research Group
(Dep. Mineralogy, Petrology and Applied Geology, Fac. Earth Sciences)

Josep Roqué Rosell (Tenure-Track Lecturer) josep.roque(at)ub.edu
Joaquín Antonio Proenza (Professor)
Joan Carles Melgarejo Draper (Professor)
María Abigaíl Jiménez Franco (Postdoc invited)

3. Nanopharmaceutics and Nanomedicine (NanoPharmaMed)

(Coordination: Mª José García-Celma)

Cellular responses to xenobiotics
(Dept Biochemistry and Physiology, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

Mª Pilar Vinardell Martínez-Hidalgo (Full professor) mpvinardellmh(at)ub.edu
Montserrrat Mitjans Arnal (Associate Professor)
Mª del Carmen Moran Bádenas (Associate Professor)
Wawan Kurniawan (PhD Student)
Michele Ferrari (External Collaborator-CNR-ICMATE Italy)

Supramolecular Systems in Nanobiomedicine
(Dep. Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutic Chemistry, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

M. Lluïsa Pérez Garcia (Professor) mlperez(at)ub.edu
David Limon Magaña (Adjunct Lecturer-Postdoc)
Sandra Giraldo Clemente (PhD Student)

Conformational Diseases Group
(Dep. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Technology and Physical-Chemical, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

Raimon Sabaté Lagunas (Associate Professor) rsabate(at)ub.edu
Alba Espargaró Colomé (Tenure-Track Lecturer)

Nanostructured systems for controlled drug delivery
(Dep. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Technology and Physical-Chemical, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

M. Luisa García López (Full professor) marisagarcia(at)ub.edu
Espina García Marta (Professor)
Fidencia Gamisans Linares (Adjunct Lecturer)
Elena Sanchez Lopez (Adjunct Lecturer-Postdoc)
Amanda Cano Fernández (Adjunct Lecturer-Postdoc)

Pharmaceutical Nanotechnology
(Dep. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Technology and Physical-Chemical, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

M. José García Celma (Full professor) mjgarcia(at)ub.edu
Immaculada Dinarès Milà (Professor)
M. Àngels Salvadó Lladós (Professor)
Marta Monge Azemar (Adjunct Lecturer)
Esteban Figueroa Becerra (PhD Student)

Drug Design and Response-evaluation within Pharmaceutical Nanostructured and self-ordered Systems Group 
(Dep. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Technology and Physical-Chemical, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

Elvira Escribano Ferrer (Professor) eescribano(at)ub.edu
Josep Queralt Regué (Emeritus lecturer)
Jacinto Lauroba Viladrosa (Professor)
Francesc Xavier García Sala (Adjunct Lecturer)

Colloids
(Dep. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Technology and Physical-Chemical, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

Joan Estelrich Latràs (Full professor) joanestelrich(at)ub.edu
M. Antonia Busquets Viñas (Professor) mabusquetsvinas(at)ub.edu

Química Bio-Inorgànica (QBI) Research Group
(Dep. Inorganic and Organic Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Patrick Gamez Enamorado (Adjunct Lecturer and ICREA Researcher) patrick.gamez(at)qi.ub.es
Amparo Caubet Marín (Professor)
Ana Belén Caballero (Tenure-Track Lecturer)

NanoBioPharma
(Dep. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Technology and Physical-Chemical, Fac. Pharmacy and Food Sciences)

Ana Calpena Campmany (Professor) anacalpena(at)ub.edu
Mireia Oliva (Professor)
Lyda Halbaut Bellowa (Professor)
Guadalupe Del Carmen Abrego Escobar (Collaborator External)
Helen Lissette Alvarado Bonilla (Adjunct Lecturer)
Beatriz Clares Maveros (Collaborator External)
Mireia Mallandrich (Adjunct Lecturer)
Marcelle Silva de Abreu (Collaborator External)
Joaquim Suñer Carbó (Adjunt Lecturer)

Group of Magnetic Nanomaterials
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Mariona Escoda Torroella (PhD Student)

4. Nanomagnetism and Spintronics (NanoMagnetics)

(Coordination: Xavier Batlle)

Magnetic Interactions and Molecular Magnetism
(Dep. Inorganic and Organic Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Ramón Vicente Castillo (Full professor)
Albert Escuer Fité (Full professor) albert.escuer(at)ub.edu
Montserrat Corbella Cordomí (Professor)
Carmen Díaz Gasa (Professor)
Mohamed Salah El Fallah (Associate Professor)
Júlia Mayans Ayats (Postdoc)

Magnetism and Functional Molecules Group (GMMF) 
(Dep. Inorganic and Organic Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Guillem Aromí Bedmar (Full Professor) aromi(at)ub.edu
Eva Carolina Sañudo (Associate Professor) esanudo(at)ub.edu 
Verónica Velasco Amigó (Adjunct Lecturer)
David Aguilà Avilés (Postdoc JdC)
Leoni A. Barrios Moreno (Postdoc)
Rosa Diego Creixenti (PhD Student) 

Thin Layer Structures for Spintronics
(Dep. Applied Physics, Fac. Physics)

Manuel Varela Fernández (Full professor) mvarela(at)ub.edu
César Ferrater Martorell (Professor)
Mª Carmen Polo Trasancos (Professor)

Magnetism
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Javier Tejada Palacios (Full professor) jtejada(at)ffn.ub.es
Antoni García Santiago (Associate Professor) agarciasan(at)ub.edu
Joan Manel Hernández Ferràs (Associate Professor) jm_hernandez(at)ub.edu
Ferran Macià Bros (Postdoc Ramón y Cajal)

Group of Magnetic Nanomaterials
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Amílcar Labarta Rodríguez (Full professor) amilcar.labarta(at)ub.edu
Xavier Batlle Gelabert (Full professor) xavierbatlle(at)ub.edu 
Arantxa Fraile Rodríguez (Associate Professor) arantxa.fraile(at)ub.edu
Carlos Moya Alvarez (Postdoc)

5.Nanoelectronics, Nano-optics and Nanophotonics (NanoPhotoElectro)

(Coordination: Blas Garrido)

Micro-nanotechnologies and nanoscopies for electronics and photonic devices(MIND)
(Dep. Electronics and Biomedical Engineering, Fac. Physics)

Albert Cornet Calveras (Full professor) cornet(at)el.ub.edu
Blas Garrido Fernández (Full professor) bgarrido(at)el.ub.edu
Albert Romano Rodríguez (Professor) aromano(at)el.ub.edu
Paolo Pellegrino (Associate Professor) pellegrino(at)ub.edu
Albert Cirera Hernández (Full professor) acirera(at)ub.edu
Juan Daniel Prades Garcia (Full professor and ERC Starting Grant) dprades(at)el.ub.edu
Daniel Navarro Urrios (Postdoc Ramón y Cajal)
Sergio Hernández Márquez (Associate Professor)
Cristian Fàbrega Gallego (Tenure-Track Lecturer)
Francisco de P. Hernandez Ramirez (Adjunct Lecturer)
Aïda Varea Espelt (Adjunct Lecturer)
Olga Casals Guillén (Postdoc)
Julià López Vidrier (Postdoc)
Josep Oriol Blazquez Gomez (PhD Student)
Adrià Huguet Ferran (PhD Student)
Alexander Cabal Tato (PhD Student)
Ismael Gabaldon Saucedo (PhD Student)
Juan Luis Frieiro Castro (PhD Student)
Guillem Domènech Gil (PhD Student)
Elena López Aymerich (PhD Student)  

Instrumentation Systems and Communications (SIC)
(Dep. Electronics and Biomedical Engineering, Fac. Physics)

Anna Vilà Arbonés (Professor) avila(at)el.ub.edu
Mauricio Moreno Sereno (Professor)

LASER-MIND
(Dep. Applied Physics, Fac. Physics)

José Luís Morenza Gil (Emèrit)
Pere Serra Coromina (Full Professor) pserra(at)ub.edu
Juan Marcos Fernández Pradas (Associate Professor)
Martí Duocastella Solà (Tenure-Track Lecturer-Serra Húnter)
Pol Sopeña Martinez (PhD Student)

Group of Magnetic Nanomaterials
(Dep. Condensed Matter Physics, Fac. Physics)

Montserrat García del Muro Solans (Associate Professor) garciadelmuros(at)ub.edu
 

6.Nanostructured materials (NanosMat)

(Coordination: Enric Bertran)

Organic Materials Unit
(Dep. Inorganic and Organic Chemistry, Fac. Chemisty) 

Dolors Velasco Castrillo (AssociateProfessor) dvelasco(at)ub.edu
Jaume García Amorós (Associate Professor)
Alba Cuadrado Santolaria (PhD Student)
Roger Bujaldón Carbó (PhD Student)

Laboratory of Nanostructured and Nanocomposite Materials (LM2N)
(Dep. Inorganic and Organic Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Albert Figuerola Silvestre (Associate Professor) albert.figuerola(at)ub.edu
Mengxi Lin (PhD Student)

Thin-film and Nanostructure electrodeposition group 
(Dept Ciència de Materials i Química Física, Fac. Química)

Elvira Gómez Valentín (Full Professor) e.gomez(at)ub.edu
Elisa Vallés Giménez (Collaborator) 

Materials for Energy, Photonics and Catalysis, ENPHOCAMAT
(Dep. Applied Physics, Fac. Physics)

Enric Bertran Serra (Full professor) ebertran(at)ub.edu
José Luis Andújar Bella (Professor) jandujar(at)ub.edu
Adolf Canillas Biosca (Professor) acanillas(at)ub.edu
Esther Pascual Miralles (Professor) epascual(at)ub.edu
Franc Güell Vilà (Professor)
Roger Amade Rovira (Tenure-Track Lecturer)
Oriol Arteaga Barriel (Postdocs)
Arevik Musheghyan Avetisyan (PhD Student)
Luis Fernando Pantoja Suárez (PhD Student)
Islam Alshaikh (PhD Student)
Joan Martí González (PhD Student)

Engineering of colloidal systems 
(Dep. Chemical Engineering and Analytical Chemistry, Fac. Chemsitry)

José María Gutiérrez González (Professor) josemaria.gutierrez(at)ub.edu
Alicia Maestro Garriga (Associate Professor)

Surface Engineering. Thin-layer Lab
(Dep. Applied Physics, Fac. Physics)

Joan Esteve Pujol (Emeritus Lecturer) joan.esteve(at)ub.edu
Arturo Lousa Rodríguez (Professor) alousa(at)ub.edu

Self-organized complexity and self-assembling materials (SOC&SAM)
(Dep. Materials Science and Physical Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Jordi Ignés Mullol (Professor) jignes(at)ub.edu
Joan Antoni Farrera Piñol (Professor)
Josep Maria Pagès Casas (PhD Student)
Mohammad Tahghighi (PhD Student)

Supra and Nanostructured Systems Group
(Dep. Inorganic and Organic Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Laura Rodríguez Raurell (IP) (Professor) laurarodriguezr(at)ub.edu
Inmaculada Angurell Purroy (Associate Professor)
Francisco Javier Caparrós Rodríguez (Adjunct Lecturer)
Andrea Pinto Martínez (PhD Student)
Ariadna Lázaro (PhD Student)

Homogeneous Catalysis
(Dep. Inorganic and Organic Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Arnald Grabulosa Rodriguez (Associate Professor) arnald.grabulosa(at)ub.edu
Anton Vidal Ferran (Investigador ICREA) anton.vidal(at)ub.edu
Dana Josa Hidalgo (PhD Student)

7. Nanoenergy: Production and Storage (NanoEnergy)

(Coordination: Narcis Homs)

 Design and improvement of Processes and Materials (DIOPMA)
(Dep. Materials Science and Physical Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Mercè Segarra Rubí (Professor) m.segarra(at)ub.edu
Elena Xuriguera Martín (Tenure-Track Lecturer)
Joan Formosa Mitjans (Associate Professor)
Jordi Díaz Marcos (Adjunct Lecturer)
Jaume Calvo de la Rosa (PhD Student)

Solar Energy Materials and Systems (SEMS) Group
(Dep. Electronics and Biomedical Engineering, Fac. Physics)

Alejandro Pérez Rodríguez (Full professor) perez-ro(at)el.ub.es
Lorenzo Calvo Barrio (Adjunct Lecturer)
Edgardo Saucedo Silva (External Collaborator-Senior researcher at IREC)
Victor Izquierdo Roca (External Collaborator-Senior researcher at IREC)
Marcel Placidi (External Collaborator-Senior researcher at IREC)

Nanoenergy and Electronic Materials (M2E) Group
(Dep. Electronics and Biomedical Engineering, Fac. Physics)

Joan Ramon Morante Lleonart (Full professor) jrmorante(at)ub.edu

Sistemes d'instrumentació i Comunicacions (SIC)
(Dep. Electronics and Biomedical Engineering, Fac. Physics)

Christophe Serre (Associate Professor) serre(at)el.ub.edu

Solar and Photovoltaic Energy Group
(Dep. Applied Physics, Fac. Physics)

Jordi Andreu Batallé (Professor)
Joan Bertomeu Balagueró (Professor) jbertomeu(at)ub.edu
José Miguel Asensi López (Associate Professor)
Thomas Tom (PhD Student)

Catalysis and Advanced Inorganic Materials (MATCAT)
(Dep. Inorganic and Organic Chemistry, Fac. Chemistry)

Narcis Homs Martí (Full professor) narcis.homs(at)qi.ub.es
Pilar Ramírez de la Piscina (Full professor)
Arturo Pajares Rojas (PhD Student)
Yan Wang (PhD Student)
Paulina Raquel Martinez Alanis (Adjunct Lecturer-Postdoc)