The departments are the University’s core teaching and research units. They are responsible for organizing and carrying out the research and degree courses in their respective knowledge areas and for supporting their members’ research and teaching work. The departments’ powers include participating in the continuous improvement of student training.

Each department has a director, a secretary and a department board made up, amongst other members, of student representatives from the degree courses in which the department participates.

Since the University of Barcelona’s most recent reorganization in 2017, the Faculty has been organized into four departments.