EWMES 2021

The Econometric Society: An international Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory in its Relation to Statistics and Mathematics

For over 50 years, the European Winter Meetings of the Econometric Society have fostered interaction among young scholars and a group of more senior academics representing different regions and fields of specialisation.

Many of today’s leading European economists kick-started their careers at one of these meetings. At the turn of the century, the meetings began to focus on PhD students close to finishing their thesis.

In the light of continuing uncertainty over the COVID situation, the Meeting will be held virtually and hosted by the University of Barcelona School of Economics. There are also new dates for the Meeting which will now take place from December 13-15, 2021. These earlier dates will allow job market candidates to present at the Meeting and to attend virtual interviews at the European Job Market for Economists.

Plenary Speakers

Sule Alan, European University Institute (watch the recording)

Isaiah Andrews, Harvard University (watch the recording)

Rafaella Giacomini, UCL (watch the recording)


You can access the EWMES 2021 scientific programme via https://eventpilotadmin.com/web/planner.php?id=EWMES21

All participants must register for the EWMES 2021. Economists and scholars in the Social Sciences are welcome to attend the conference.

You can register as presenter (if you are presenting a paper at the conference) or as attendee only (to have access to all scientific sessions).

Registration is open from 20 October 2021. Deadlines:

  • Presenters ($80 USD): 13 November 2021
  • Non-presenters (no fee): 10 December 2021

Please visit the Conference Maker website at https://editorialexpress.com/conference/EWMES21 to register for the conference. If you are a presenter, use the email with which you submitted your paper. Go to the upper lefthand corner. Under the yellow wording “Meeting Registration” click on the text and follow the registration instructions.

The registration fee is $80 USD for presenters. There is no charge for non-presenters but registration is required in order to receive details of how to attend.


Sarah Smith, Univeristy of Bristol


Behavioural, experimental

Luigi Butera, Copenhagen Business School

Terri Kneeland, University College London

Christina Gravert, University of Copenhagen


Hande Karabiyik, Vreie Universitat

Julia Shaumburg, Vreie Universitat

Martin Weidner, University of Oxford


Michael Callen, London School of Economics

Stefano Caria, University of Warwick

Lucie Gadenne, University of Warwick

Pauline Rossi, University of Amsterdam

Christine Valente, University of Bristol


Julien Sauvagnat, Bocconi University

Victoria Vanasco, CREI

Ansgar Walther, Imperial College London

Industrial Organisation, Personnel

Rosa Ferrer, Pompeu Fabra University

Andrew Rhodes, Toulouse School of Economics

Dana Sisak, Erasmus University


Swati Dhingra, London School of Economics

Kalina Manova, University College London

Labour / Applied Micro

Ines Helm, Stockholm University

Atila Lindner, University College London

Camille Terrier, HEC Lausanne

Uta Schoenberg, University College London

Micro theory

Inga Deiman, Arizona State University

Battal Dogan, University of Bristol

Andrew Ellis, London School of Economics

Antonio Penta, Pompeu Fabra University

Silvia Sonderegger, University of Nottingham


Alessandra Bonfiglioli, Queen Mary University London

Basile Grassi, Bocconi University

Stephen Hansen, Imperial College London

Maria Vukotic, University of Warwick

Yu Zheng, Queen Mary University London

Public Economics and Political Economy

Enriqueta Aragonès, Institute for Economic Analysis

Gianmarco Leon, Pompeu Fabra University

Urban and Regional Economics

Guy Michaels, London School of Economics

Yanos Zylberberg, University of Bristol


Nezih Guner, CEMFI (Chair)

Joan Llull, Autonomous University of Barcelona

Xavier Raurich, University of Barcelona

Raul Ramos, University of Barcelona

Jordi Roca, University of Barcelona (Manager)

Programme Committee

Contact: Sarah Smith, Univeristy of Bristol
Email: sarah.smith@bristol.ac.uk

Local Organizing Committee

Contact: Jordi Roca
Email: local.eswm2021@ub.edu